About the PEC
Nottingham Prize
Program Schedule
Travel and Lodging
Abstract Submission
Organizing Committees
Sponsors and Exhibitors

Exhibitor Information
Contributions and Sponsorship

       About the PEC

For 69 years the Physical Electronics Conference has been held on university campuses and research labs around North America. This topical conference provides an annual forum for the dissemination and discussion of new research results in the physics and chemistry of surfaces and interfaces. The conference emphasizes fundamental science in materials systems, including metals, semiconductors, insulators and biomaterials.

Each year, physicists and chemists with interests in these field come together to solicit papers on experimental and theoretical research performed at exposed (gas-solid), buried (liquid-solid and solid-solid) and hybrid (e.g., semiconductor-biomaterial) interfaces. Representative topics include electronic, chemical, magnetic, and structural properties of interfaces; kinetics and dynamics of physical and chemical transformations at surfaces; formation, modeling, and properties of nanoscale-mesoscale surface architectures; correlated electron effects at surfaces; biological interactions with surfaces; mechanisms of surface and interface growth and evolution; and energy and electron transfer processes across materials interfaces. Properties of structurally and chemically tailored surfaces are of interest, as are new methods of measuring these properties and the demonstration of new applications..

       Previous PEC Hosts

1966 Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1967 Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1968 University of Minnesota
1969 Yale University
1970 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1971 National Bureau of Standards
1972 Sandia Laboratories
1973 University of California-Berkeley
1974 Bell Laboratories
1975 Penn State University
1976 University of Wisconsin-Madison
1977 Stanford University
1978 Oak Ridge National Laboratory
1979 University of Maryland
1980 Cornell University
1981 Montana State University
1982 Georgia Institute of Technology
1983 Sandia National Laboratories
1984 Princeton University
1985 University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
1986 University of Texas-Austin
1987 IBM Almaden Research
1988 Brookhaven National Laboratory
1989 University of Washington
1990 National Institute of Standards
1991 Rutgers University
1992 University of California-Irvine
1993 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
1994 University of Tennessee
1995 Arizona State University
1996 Boston University
1997 University of Oregon
1998 Penn State University
1999 University of California-Berkeley
2000 Louisiana State University
2001 Sandia National Laboratories
2002 Georgia Institute of Technology
2003 Cornell University
2004 University of California-Davis
2005 University of Wisconsin-Madison
2006 Princeton University
2007 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2008 University of California-Riverside